Dhafer Youssef—Streets of Minarets (Music Review)


The Music
The Audio
The Supplements


A stunning new album by oud virtuoso Dhafer Youssef and his band of all-star jazz musicians that runs the gamut from jazz to funk to authentic Arabic music.

Estimated reading time: 3 minutes

Tunisian-born oud virtuoso Dhaffer Youssef, a fixture on the international jazz scene since the 1990s, treats listeners to his tenth album, Streets of Minarets, and one that is noteworthy for its impressive team of jazz musicians he assembled for this recording: Herbie Hancock (piano), Marcus Miller (bass), Nguyen Lee (guitar), Rakesh Chaurasia (flute), Adriano Dos Santos Tenori (percussion), Dave Holland (double bass), Vinnie Colaiuta (drums), and Ambrose Akinmusire (trumpet).  Unlike Youssef’s previous albums, he selected his musical colleagues before he wrote the music specifically for each one. What is remarkable about this new release is that it was a product of the pandemic during which Dhafer overcame challenges presented by the understandable anxiety that many artists faced and undergoing vocal cord surgery.

The Performance

Each of the twelve selections on the playlist has a title that immediately connotes the kind of music that they contain:

  1. Street of the Minarets
  2. Bal d’ âme
  3. SharQ Suite I: Serenade
  4. SharQ Suite 2: Funky
  5. Omar Khayyam: Suite 1: Flying Dervish Intro
  6. Omar Khayyam: Suite 2: Flying Dervish
  7. Omar Khayyam: Suite 3: Flying Dervish Outro
  8. Sudra Funk
  9. Whirling in Air
  10. Spinning Hermit
  11. Herbie’s Dance
  12. Ondes of Chakras

The program covers a broad range of styles from ethereal (“Streets of Minarets”) to funk (“SharQ Suite 2”) to unabashedly romantic (“Bal d’ âme”) to dance (“Spinning Hermit”) and to an unmistakebly Arabic style (“Sudra Funk”). Each of the above-listed musicians gets his proverbial moment in the sun and each track blessed with virtuosic moments whether it comes via Hancock’s piano, Akinmusire’s trumpet or Youssef’s oud. The final track, also being released as a single is “Ondes of Chakras,” an introspective study created by winds, strings, and percussion.

 The Audio

The program is recorded in CD-quality sound and is available on Tidal and Qobuz as a 96kHz/24-bit download. The sound engineering team provides excellent reproduction of the wide variety of instrumental timbres on display, and the performers are distinctly placed in a deep soundstage. Dhafer’s voice is the beneficiary of well-balanced miking and adds a special quality to each of the selections that contains his vocal tracks.

 After playing this download as a straightforward stereo recording, I replayed it in a matrixed multichannel  mode from AirPlay on my MacBook Pro laptop to an Apple TV wired to a Theta Digital Casablanca V surround processor driving a Dolby 7.1 system and was completely blown away by the atmosphere it generated when heard in that format.  In either case, this is a stunning audio production.

The Supplements


The Final Assessment

For those unfamiliar with Dhafer Youssef’s considerable body of work,  Streets of Minarets represents an excellent opportunity to become acquainted with one of today’s leaders in jazz, fusion, and funk music. I have rarely heard such a wide range of musical styles and genres on one album that reminded me of Miles Davis Bitches’ Brew and John McLaughlin’s Shakti that changed the sound of contemporary jazz forever.

The oud is a very expressive instrument and it is a real aural treat to hear it played as expressively as it is in Youssef’s hands. In the artist’s own words: “this record is a journey through time with a bridge sitting between the child I was, a music lover and admirer of the great masters like Miles, Herbie, and Dave, and the grown-up individual I have become.” Enough said, this album is highly recommended for all music lovers.

Streets of Minarets is available for streaming on Spotify, Apple Music, Deezer, and Tidal. Physical CDs and Vinyl LPs can be purchased on Dhafer Youssef’s official website, Amazon, and fnac. Available for pre-save here.

  • Label: Back Beat Edition
  • Artist: Dhafer Youssef
  • Producer: Dhafer Youssef
  • Run Time: 60 Mins.
  • Release Date: 27 January 2023
  • Audio Format: 44.1kHz/16-bit | 96kHz/24-bit

Join the Discussion on TheaterByte!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Notice of Compliance with FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION 16 CFR Part 255

In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission 16 CFR part 255 guidelines, this website hereby states that it receives free discs and other theatrical or home entertainment "screeners" and access to screening links from studios and/or PR firms, and is provided with consumer electronics devices on loan from hardware manufacturers and/or PR firms respectively for the purposes of evaluating the products and its content for editorial reviews. We receive no compensation from these companies for our opinions or for the writing of reviews or editorials.
Permission is sometimes granted to companies to quote our work and editorial reviews free of charge. Our website may contain affiliate marketing links, which means we may get paid commission on sales of those products or the services we write about. Our editorial content is not influenced by advertisers or affiliate partnerships. This disclosure is provided in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR § 255.5: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

A stunning new album by oud virtuoso Dhafer Youssef and his band of all-star jazz musicians that runs the gamut from jazz to funk to authentic Arabic music.Dhafer Youssef—Streets of Minarets (Music Review)