INCOGNITO: Live in London — 30th Anniversary Concert Blu-ray Review

  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Video Codec: AVC/MPEG-4
  • Resolution: 1080p/24
  • Audio Codec: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, PCM 5.1, PCM 2.0
  • Region: ABC (Region-Free)
  • Rating: Not Rated)
  • Discs: 1
  • Studio: Inakustik
  • Blu-ray Release Date: April 2o, 2010
  • List Price: $29.95

[amazon-product align=”right”]B0034KVTL2[/amazon-product]

Purchase Incognito – Live In London on Blu-ray at

Purchase Incognito – Live in London/The 30th Anniversary Concert on Blu-ray at

Live In London _The 30 Th Anniversary Concert on Blu-ray at

Purchase Incognito: Live in London on Blu-ray at CD Universe

Shop for more Blu-ray titles at

The Performance

Video Quality

Audio Quality

Supplemental Materials

Click thumbnails for high-resolution 1920X1080p screen captures

(Screen captures are lightly compressed with lossy JPEG  thus are meant as a general representation of the content and do not fully reveal the capabilities of the Blu-ray format)

The Performance


A native of Muaritius, Incognito’s musical leader Jean-Paul “Bluey” Maunick moved to London with his mother at the age of ten and was instantly captivated with the sounds he was surrounded by. Taken by R&B, funk and fusion, captivated by Earth, Wind, and Fire and Stevie Wonder, Bluey set out on a musical journey that would eventually lead to the formation of his own band, INCOGNITO.

Arriving on the British music scene with their first album, Jazz Funk, in 1981, INCOGNITO would have to bide their time before recognition came to their way as the musical landscape was then dominated by the punks, Goths, mods, and new wavers. But recognition would come. INCOGNITO would garner acclaim on the underground club circuit and eventually go on to become on of the key figures in the acid jazz movement.

INCOGNITO would become a proving ground for numerous R&B vocalists, such as Jocelyn Brown, and other musicians like the saxophonist Ronnie Cuber. Eventually Bluey himself would become sought out as a top producer working with artists such as Chaka Kahn and Philip Bailey, but INCOGNITO would always remain.

This concert, recorded live in London at the IndigoO2 at the O2 in August 2009 is in celebration of the band’s 30th anniversary. It is proof positive of, not only the longevity of Bluey’s musical vision, but of INCOGNITO’s musical merit and their long-reaching influence on the industry as a whole.

As to be expected, the evening was filled with the band’s own brand of funky, jazzy, sexy music, elegant melodies, and precise rhythms. Joined by guests, such as Jocelyn Brown and the Millenia Strings Ensemble, INCOGNITO energetically performed numbers from throughout their career, including rousing covers such as Ashford & Simpson’s “Ain’t no Mountain” and Stevie Wonder’s “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing.” It was surely a splendid night for music and a splendid time for all.

Track Listing:

  1. Step Aside
  2. When The Sun Comes Down
  3. Jacob’s Ladder
  4. Centre Of The Sun
  5. Get Into My Groove
  6. Labour Of Love
  7. Ain’t No Mountain
  8. Always There
  9. Colibri
  10. N.O.T.
  11. This Thing Called Love
  12. Still A Friend Of Mine
  13. Can’t Get You Out Of My Head
  14. Deep Waters
  15. Wild And Beautiful
  16. Morning Sun
  17. Expresso Madureira
  18. Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing
  19. Reach Out
  20. Everyday
  21. I Hear Your Name
  22. Nights Over Egypt

Video Quality


INCOGNITO: Live in London’s original high definition recording is given a solid AVC/MPEG-4 transfer to Blu-ray. The 1080p/24 encoding is about as good as can be expected for a live concert disc given the varying lighting conditions and quick camera movements. Low light levels result in some video noise and softening of the image, but mostly detail is quite strong, shadow delineation is extended, and black levels are nice and deep.

Audio Quality


Three audio programs are offered up on this release. Two 5.1 mixes in lossless DTS-HD Master Audio (48kHz/24-bit) and PCM (48kHz/24-bit) varieties and a PCM 2.0 (48kHz/24-bit) option. As to be expected, both 5.1 options sound identical. The only difference in the materials occurs between the 2.0 and 5.1 mixes.

Starting with the 5.1 version, it is mixed from an audience perspective and has good dynamics, an open and expansive sound and oodles of ambience in the surround channels. Bass is deep yet tight, the midrange is punchy and vocals are loud and clear. High frequencies are smooth there is a good sense of depth.

The 2.0 mix has a strong, punchy midrange with nice deep bass as well, but it also manages to accomplish superior instrumental separation with only two channels. It has a clearer distinction of instruments across the soundstage than the 5.1 has across its three front channels.

Supplemental Materials


It may be too much to ask for a heavier dose of supplemental materials given the three-hour or so running time of this concert performance, but it still would have been nice to have something more than what is provided here. The supplements offered feel like nothing more than obligatory, pieced together footage, aside from the brief interview with Bluey, which the band’s fans are sure to enjoy.

The supplements provided on this release are:

  • Backstage Impressions (1.78:1; 1080p/24)
  • Interview with Bluey (1.78:1; 1080p/24)

The Definitive Word



Whether you call it acid jazz, funk, soul, r&b, or just plain music, INCOGNITO have proven they have something special that gets people out of their seats and onto their feet. In this 30th Anniversary concert the band was tight, the music was right, and it was captured splendidly in HD.

Additional Screen Captures:

Purchase Incognito – Live In London on Blu-ray at

Purchase Incognito – Live in London/The 30th Anniversary Concert on Blu-ray at

Live In London _The 30 Th Anniversary Concert on Blu-ray at

Purchase Incognito: Live in London on Blu-ray at CD Universe

Shop for more Blu-ray titles at


Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Notice of Compliance with FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION 16 CFR Part 255

In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission 16 CFR part 255 guidelines, this website hereby states that it receives free discs and other theatrical or home entertainment "screeners" and access to screening links from studios and/or PR firms, and is provided with consumer electronics devices on loan from hardware manufacturers and/or PR firms respectively for the purposes of evaluating the products and its content for editorial reviews. We receive no compensation from these companies for our opinions or for the writing of reviews or editorials.
Permission is sometimes granted to companies to quote our work and editorial reviews free of charge. Our website may contain affiliate marketing links, which means we may get paid commission on sales of those products or the services we write about. Our editorial content is not influenced by advertisers or affiliate partnerships. This disclosure is provided in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR § 255.5: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

%d bloggers like this: