8.2 C
New York
Sunday, April 21, 2024

Michael Schenker Group: 30th Anniversary Concert — Live in Tokyo Blu-ray Review

  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Video Codec: AVC/MPEG-4
  • Resolution: 1080p/24
  • Audio Codec: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 (96kHz/24-bit), PCM 2.0 Stereo (96kHz/24-bit)
  • Region: ABC (Region-Free)
  • Rating: Not Rated
  • Discs: 1
  • Studio: Inakustik
  • Blu-ray Release Date: October 19, 2010
  • List Price: $29.95

[amazon-product align=”right”]B003NEVW16[/amazon-product]

Purchase Michael Schenker Group: 30th Anniversary Concert on Blu-ray at CD Universe

Shop for more Blu-ray titles at Amazon.com

The Performance

Video Quality

Audio Quality

Supplemental Materials

Click thumbnails for high-resolution 1920X1080p screen captures

(Screen captures are lightly compressed with lossy JPEG  thus are meant as a general representation of the content and do not fully reveal the capabilities of the Blu-ray format)

The Performance


It was January 13th 2010 and the former Scorpions lead guitarist Michael Schenker had assembled a powerhouse band for the 30th anniversary of The Michael Schenker Group, including two of its original members, lead vocalist Gary Barden and drummer Simon Phillips.  Back together in Tokyo at the Nakano Sun Plaza, the heavy metal band’s set list included blazing renditions of six tracks from the band’s 1980 self-titled debut, including “Feels Like a Good Thing,” “Cry for the Nations,” the crowd pleasing “Armed and Ready,” “Victim of Illusion,” “Into the Arena” and “Lost Horizons.” Tracks from the second album, MSG included the quick, buzz saw attack of “Attack of the Mad Axeman,” one of the highlights of the evening.

With an energetic performance and a crowd pleasing set list, the 30th Anniversary Concert is a show that will take you back to the days of old when guitar gods roamed the land and spandex was the chosen garb. It’s a full on assault of melodic, yet ballsy heavy metal. Gary Barden’s vocals stand up to the test and Schenker shows he still knows how to shred on the axe.

Track Listing:

  1. Welcome Howl
  2. Feels Like A Good Thing
  3. Cry For The Nations
  4. Let Sleeping Dogs Lie
  5. Armed And Ready
  6. Victim of Illusion
  7. Are You Ready To Rock
  8. I Want You
  9. A Night To Remember
  10. Into The Arena
  11. Lost Horizons
  12. Rock My Nights Away
  13. On And On
  14. Attack of the Mad Axeman
  15. Ride On My Way
  16. Rock Bottom
  17. Dance Lady Gypsy
  18. Doctor, Doctor

Video Quality


Originally captured in HD, the concert arrives on Blu-ray with an AVC/MPEG-4 1080p/24 encoding. The image is rich in color and free from artifacts, shows fine details in skin and clothing and strings on instruments can be easily discerned. Video noise is also not an issue.

Audio Quality


The Michael Schenker Group: The 30th Anniversary Concert — Live in Tokyo is provided with two fine high-resolution audio mixes, a DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 (96kHz/24-bit) lossless track and a LPCM 2.0 Stereo (96kHz/24-bit) track.

Either one provides a fine balance of sounds with relatively good dynamics for this sort of music and good instrumental separation. The 5.1 mix, mixed from an audience perspective, has an abundance of ambience in the rear channels, but not an excessive amount, and keeps audience noise to a minimum. The low frequencies are beefy, but tight and musical. Vocals are clear and never lost in the array of sounds.

The 2.0 mix offers the same good balance of sound and an even tighter, more solid sounding midrange.

Supplemental Materials


The supplements, all provided in 1080p, offer up a lot of interview segments with Schenker and the band members, but, sadly, no bonus performances.

The supplements provided with this release are:

  • The L.A. Rehearsal (1.78:1; 1080p/24; 0:21.40) — See the band rehearse in L.A. for the tour, with interview segments interspersed.
  • Backstage Impressions (1.78:1; 1080p/24; 0:08.15) — Setting up for the show.
  • Michael About Michael (1.78:1; 1080p/24; 0:22.06) — The musician talks about his musical influences.
  • Gary, Simon, Wayne, & Neil — in Their Own Words (1.78:1; 1080p/24; 0:17.54) — The band members reminisce on how they met and their career together.

The Definitive Word



Get ready to rock! If you are a guitar rock fan, then you must pick up this excellently recorded and energetically performed concert by the Michael Schenker Group. It is definitely the finest sounding heavy metal performance to date available on Blu-ray.

Additional Screen Captures:

[amazon-product align=”right”]B003NEVW16[/amazon-product]

Purchase Michael Schenker Group: 30th Anniversary Concert on Blu-ray at CD Universe

Shop for more Blu-ray titles at Amazon.com

Join the Discussion on Our Forum


Related Articles

Join the Discussion on TheaterByte!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Notice of Compliance with FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION 16 CFR Part 255

In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission 16 CFR part 255 guidelines, this website hereby states that it receives free discs and other theatrical or home entertainment "screeners" and access to screening links from studios and/or PR firms, and is provided with consumer electronics devices on loan from hardware manufacturers and/or PR firms respectively for the purposes of evaluating the products and its content for editorial reviews. We receive no compensation from these companies for our opinions or for the writing of reviews or editorials.
Permission is sometimes granted to companies to quote our work and editorial reviews free of charge. Our website may contain affiliate marketing links, which means we may get paid commission on sales of those products or the services we write about. Our editorial content is not influenced by advertisers or affiliate partnerships. This disclosure is provided in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR § 255.5: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Latest Articles