24 C
New York
Monday, July 15, 2024

Black Label Society: Doom Troopin’ Live — The European Invasion Blu-ray Review

  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Video Codec: AVC/MPEG-4
  • Resolution: 1080i/60
  • Audio Codec: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, LPCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1
  • Region: A
  • Rating: Not Rated
  • Discs: 1
  • Studio: Eagle Rock
  • Blu-ray Release Date: August 24, 2010
  • List Price: $19.98

[amazon-product align=”right”]B003V5CTKU[/amazon-product]

Purchase Black Label Society: Doom Troopin’ Live on Blu-ray at CD Universe

Shop for more Blu-ray titles at Amazon.com

The Performance

Video Quality

Audio Quality

Supplemental Materials

Click thumbnails for high-resolution 1920X1080p screen captures

(Screen captures are lightly compressed with lossy JPEG  thus are meant as a general representation of the content and do not fully reveal the capabilities of the Blu-ray format)

The Performance


I have to admit that I pretty much lost track of Zakk Wylde after the early-nineties when he was working behind Ozzy. In those intervening years, however, he’s gone on to quite a productive metal career, especially beginning in the late-nineties with the formation of Black Label Society. The band is nothing flashy, this is straight out of the seventies, tear ’em up, full-frontal assault metal, bluesy, fast, and hard with a love of all the bad (bad meaning good) things in life. Their sound is somewhere between Sabbath, Motorhead, and Metallica. Sure, one song bleeds into the next bleeds into the next, but who really cares when you’re pumping your fists, bashing your head and downing Jägermeister?

Doom Troopin’ Live — The European Invasion catches the band on tour in 2005 supporting their Mafia album. Performing in Paris and decked out in leather biker jackets, with their long hair and seventies beards, their wall of sound, twin guitar assault and Wylde’s nasal vocals come at you like a pack of wolves on steroids. There’s no way metal purists can resist the thrill of numbers like “Stoned and Drunk,” “Funeral Bell,” and the addictive, hook laden “Suicide Messiah.”

Track List:

Paris Chapter:

  1. Intro Jam
  2. Stoned and Drunk
  3. Destruction Overdrive
  4. Been A Long Time
  5. Ironman Interlude
  6. Funeral Bell
  7. Suffering Overdue
  8. In this River
  9. Suicide Messiah
  10. Demise of Sanity
  11. Spread Your Wings
  12. Solo Acoustic Jam
  13. Spoke in the Wheel
  14. Fire it Up
  15. Stillborn
  16. Genocide Junkies

London Chapter:

  1. Been a Long Time
  2. Suicide Messiah
  3. Stillborn Jam
  4. Genocide Junkies

Video Quality


The 1080i/60 AVC/MPEG-4 video for Black Society won’t wow anyone, especially not with the dark set and intentionally added video noise and special effects, but it gets the job done for this no nonsense, straight ahead rock and roll show.

Audio Quality


The DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 mix is a full on aural assault on the ears, as every good live metal show should be. The low-end balance is a bit off and boomy, but I found that to be the case even in the LPCM 2.0 mix. Vocals are intentionally buried in the mix and guitars cranked up to 12, with very little instrumental distinction. But, whoever said live metal was an audiophile showcase? This sounds like just about every live metal show I’ve ever attended.

Supplemental Materials


There are a good bit of HD extras supplied here, including four bonus performances from a London show, music videos, and an extensive behind-the-scenes featurette, so at least fans truly get their money’s worth in supplements out of this one.

The supplements provided with this release are:

  • Music Videos:
    • “Suicide Messiah” (1.78:1; 1080i/60)
      • Making of the video “Suicide Messiah” (1.78:1; 1080i/60; 0:05.47)
    • “In this River” (1.78:1; 1080i/60)
    • “Fire it Up” (1.78:!; 1080i/60)
  • Backstage Pass (1.78:1; 1080i/60)

The Definitive Word



Bang your head! If you love rock and metal, you gotta’ love this deafening paean to debauchery from guitar god Zakk Wylde and his band Black Label Society.

Additional Screen Captures:

[amazon-product align=”right”]B003V5CTKU[/amazon-product]

Purchase Black Label Society: Doom Troopin’ Live on Blu-ray at CD Universe

Shop for more Blu-ray titles at Amazon.com

Join the Discussion on Our Forum


Related Articles

Join the Discussion on TheaterByte!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Notice of Compliance with FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION 16 CFR Part 255

In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission 16 CFR part 255 guidelines, this website hereby states that it receives free discs and other theatrical or home entertainment "screeners" and access to screening links from studios and/or PR firms, and is provided with consumer electronics devices on loan from hardware manufacturers and/or PR firms respectively for the purposes of evaluating the products and its content for editorial reviews. We receive no compensation from these companies for our opinions or for the writing of reviews or editorials.
Permission is sometimes granted to companies to quote our work and editorial reviews free of charge. Our website may contain affiliate marketing links, which means we may get paid commission on sales of those products or the services we write about. Our editorial content is not influenced by advertisers or affiliate partnerships. This disclosure is provided in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR § 255.5: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Latest Articles