Bruckner: Symphony No. 5 [Harnoncourt/Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra] Blu-ray Review


– –

The Performance



In October 2013, venerable maestro Nikolaus Harnoncourt bade farewell to his beloved Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra after an association that spanned nearly four decades and nearly 300 concerts. While Harnoncourt began his career as an early music specialist with his own orchestra Concentus Musicus Wien, he has gradually added the catalogs of 18th, 19th, and 20th century works to his repertory. Bruckner’s Symphony No.5, (Nowak 1951, third revised critical edition (2005) plays noticeably shorter than its original version by nearly ten minutes, although this may not be obvious to most listeners. This is very deliberate music with slowly developing themes, huge blocks of sound, and lots of brass. Unusual for Bruckner’s symphonic catalog, three of the four movements and the finale all begin with Adagios.


Harnoncourt treats this work with more delicatesse than most conductors. The advantage gained is that small details of the score that are often overwhelmed come across quite clearly. In addition, this maestro moves his RCO colleagues along with a pace that it is brisk yet not rushed. In working with colleagues with whom Harnoncourt has been familiar over a number of years, there is a synergy that is obvious and one that works much to the advantage of this symphony.

Video Quality                                                                                               



Video director Joost Honselaar is clearly familiar with visual virtues of the Concertgebouw lets his cameras revel in the hall’s gorgeous interior. Coverage of the instrumentalists, the whole orchestra and the amazingly animated maestro is superb.  Colors and details are fine, given that the lighting is a bit on the dim side. A bit of motion artifact intrudes from time to time.

Audio Quality



The surround version is 5.0 rather than the usual 5.1 channel format, but does not appear to suffer on the low end. The orchestral spread is fabulous and the individual instrumental voices are quite clear. The fact that both multichannel and stereo versions are presented in lossless 96kHz/24-bit resolution makes them both excellent choices, the former being a bit more spacious.

Supplemental Materials



A concise program booklet is included with background notes on the symphony, the conductor, and the orchestra.

The Definitive Word




This is now the third Blu-ray version of this work that I have been privileged to review, the others being Accentus releases of Claudio Abbado/Lucerne Festival Orchestral disc and Daniel Barenboim/Staatskapelle Berlin. While my previous preference went to the Barenboim/SB performance, it uses the original version that runs a good bit longer. Bruckner enthusiasts will certainly want to own more than one version of this great symphony and, those who prefer more rapid tempi and a lighter hand on the throttle will find this new Blu-ray very much to their liking.

Additional Screen Captures

[amazon-product region=”uk” tracking_id=”bluraydefinit-21″]B00LI2CSGS[/amazon-product]

[amazon-product region=”ca” tracking_id=”bluraydefinit-20″]B00LI2CSGS[/amazon-product]











[amazon-product region=”uk” tracking_id=”bluraydefinit-21″]B00LI2CSGS[/amazon-product]

[amazon-product region=”ca” tracking_id=”bluraydefinit-20″]B00LI2CSGS[/amazon-product]



Join the Discussion on TheaterByte!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Notice of Compliance with FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION 16 CFR Part 255

In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission 16 CFR part 255 guidelines, this website hereby states that it receives free discs and other theatrical or home entertainment "screeners" and access to screening links from studios and/or PR firms, and is provided with consumer electronics devices on loan from hardware manufacturers and/or PR firms respectively for the purposes of evaluating the products and its content for editorial reviews. We receive no compensation from these companies for our opinions or for the writing of reviews or editorials.
Permission is sometimes granted to companies to quote our work and editorial reviews free of charge. Our website may contain affiliate marketing links, which means we may get paid commission on sales of those products or the services we write about. Our editorial content is not influenced by advertisers or affiliate partnerships. This disclosure is provided in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR § 255.5: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.